Ranks in the Israeli IMI System

The ISRAELI IMI SYSTEM grading system is divided into 3 categories; Practitioner, Graduate and Expert. Each level has it own badges of merit and are colour coded as described.

Practitioners (P1-P5)

Practitioner Patch

These are krav maga students. They wear a white patch with black bars, with each new bar representing a new level.

Graduates (G1-G5)

Graduate Patch

Instructors and advanced students move on to graduate levels. They wear a red patch with black bars.

Experts (E1-E5)

Expert Patch

Very high level instructors advance to the expert levels. They usually have at least one specialization, such as military instructor, VIP protection instructor, etc.